*Rest Easy

guestbook
old entries
mail




Commonwealth Bricoleurs


Fabulous Manner on YouTube




vcu sculpture
village voice
the onion
VCU Portfolios (including mine)
Tom's cartoons
Andy's music
Chat!

2001-08-19

that guy that replaced my shift sure does sleep a lot. on the job i mean.

today on the way to work i got stopped by this kid on a bike. picture it: its about 6 am, dawn breaking. and he's like, " you gotta problem?" then he comes over, parks his bike in front of me to ensure i can't walk anymore. and he repeats the question.

I don't got any problem, i'm just checking him out i say. sure, it probably wasn't nice or right of me to give him a side glance as i was walking by . . .

What's in there, he motioned to the square bulge in my pocket that was my wallet. 'oh there', i stuff my hand in my pocket, take off my glasses, "im not giving you my wallet"

i try to be as forceful as possible. this guy is probably younger than me by a few years. not much taller, if at all. and certainly not big or intimidating. this is kind of a showdown, both of us sizing each other up. His voice gets quieter, kind of meeker: "Just let me see it..."

I start to push his bike out of the way, and tell him I'm going to work. He grabs my shirt and says, " I know you're drunk",...

so i pull away and make my exit. Not sure what to say next, I'm not sure if he'll follow me or just give up. I don't think he belonged on that street (its a small alley that Kelli lives on). Anyway, he must have determined i wasn't worth it or something.

its kind of funny, cuz he was so small and normal of a guy to be asking for my wallet... not particularly big or strong. But i guess a guy's got to be tough. and if some one gives you a side glance on the street when its still dark out, you have the right to settle the issue, if there's an issue at all.

in a way i kind of understand his temper at me. I'm sort of dressed nice for work, so i could be interpretted as a yuppie or something. but i think in the end he couldn't really get a bead on me, and wasn't sure if i was worth it or dangerous or not.

that's me, mr. ambiguous.

this is the second real confrontation with strangers in new york, where i really didn't know what was going to happen. Both instances were mild really, and they weren't nearly as bad as the hazing and shit i went through in high school, in the locker rooms, in good old newtripoli, PA.








log
hahaist011
kostrub
oldgreedy

johnpowers
explodingdog
anenigma
quoted
zenpervert
creativemonk




9/11 Mysteries
Improbable Collapse

diaryland
member of the getting-old diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com